Minster-on-Sea Parish Council is the third largest council in Kent.  It represents approximately 17,000 residents; it is a statutory body.  Although its powers are largely discretionary, the statutory procedures under which it operates are mandatory.  The reason is that local councils are public bodies, answerable to the local community and mainly financed by a compulsory levy (precept) on council tax payers.  It currently receives a very small portion of the total Council Tax bill, which is collected by Swale Borough Council.  The vast majority goes to Kent County Council, Swale Borough Council and Police Authority Elements.  For example, in 2018/2019 Minster-on-Sea Parish Council plans to spend £149,418.41.  This means that in the year ending March 2019 it asked for £27.61 for an average Council Tax Band D household.

How it all works

The council has eleven elected councillors all of whom are unpaid on its board.  It employs one Chief Executive referred to as the ‘Parish Clerk’ who is also the  ‘Responsible Financial Officer’ and two part-time Members of Staff who deal with front line matters and provides administrative support to the Clerk.